Vegan Candy – Healthy & Delicious Sweet Treats

Vegan candy is becoming more and more popular over time. People choose to live a vegan lifestyle for different reasons. However, the number is rising rapidly. We all love sweets and it reminds us of the memories connected with our loved ones. So, vegan candy is a way to help people experience the happiness and joy of delicious treats we all love.

Please leave a review or any memories of this snack in the comments at the bottom of this page. Thank you!

Vegan Candy Healthy & Delicious Sweet Treats

What Is Veganism?

A wave of veganism actually started in 1944 by creating the Vegan Society. At first, it was a dietary-based movement and then turned into animal rights. The word “vegan” was first published independently by the Oxford Illustrated Dictionary in 1962.

Veganism is a form of vegetarianism. However, vegans not only exclude meat but all animal-delivered ingredients. Those ingredients include eggs and dairy products too. The nutrition that is needed for the body is consumed from grains, beans, nuts, fruits, and vegetables. So, the vegan candy must not include any dairy products or eggs. However, it is still possible to create very delicious treats even without those.

The vast majority of sweets today are produced with some form of animal product. So, it is important to know which candies are “safe” to eat. Even though the Vegan Candy Market is not that large, there is a good amount of variety. And to our surprise, some of our favorite and most loved candies turned out to be vegan too.

Hard Vegan Candy

Hard candy is also called a boiled sweet, because of how it is prepared. Those are mainly made with sugar-based syrups that heat up to 160 degrees Celsius. Then it cools down in the molds and gets different kinds of shapes. 

There are usually some more ingredients added to the boiled candy, such as flavors, colors, and additions such as nuts, for example, or cream in the middle. Modern, popular candy brands have a pretty large choice of vegan hard candies that don’t necessarily require any animal-delivered ingredients.

Chick-O-Stick

Chick-O-Stick
CHICK-O-STICK

Chick-O-Stick is a vegan candy that was made in the 1950s by the Atkinson Candy Company. The candy consists of peanut butter, granulated sugar, corn syrup, and toasted coconut. In addition, it has some coloring added. So, the candy is considered to be totally plant-based.

Dum Dums

Dum Dums
DUM DUMS

Dum Dums are lollipop candies and were created in 1924. The manufacturer is Akron Candy Company, located in Ohio. The candy was named Dum Dums because it was fun, easy to remember and any child could say it. 

These vegan lollipops come in different colors and flavors. There is lemon, lime, orange, coconut, pineapple, cherry, grape, and butterscotch. Lollipop candy comes with paper sticks. The lollipop candy is absolutely delicious, and not only do the kids love it, but it remains a favorite treat for many people.

READ MORE:  Astro Pops (History, Flavors & Commercials)

Atomic Fireballs

Atomic Fireballs
ATOMIC FIREBALLS

Atomic Fireballs were first created in 1954 by Nello Ferrara. The candies were made using the same hot pan method that other candies like Lemonheads had previously been made with. They used this same method to create and prepare the Atomic Fireball as well.

Atomic Fireballs turn out to be vegan candy. It is healthy to eat for everyone because it is fat-free and gluten-free too. Candy consists of little, bite-sized, red balls that are individually wrapped. 

Charms Blow Pops

Charms Blow Pops
CHARMS BLOW POPS

Here comes another delicious and mouth-watering lollipop. Did you know that Charms Blow Pops comes with a surprise? Actually, after eating the outside part, there is a chewing gum center inside. Blow Pops became the brand’s best-selling product of all time. 

Blow Pops are fruit-flavored. Flavors include grape, strawberry, blue raspberry, cherry, watermelon, and sour apple. Apart from the fact that the Charms Blow Pops are vegan candies, they are also Kosher Certified, Peanut Free, and Gluten-Free

The lollipop was manufactured by Charms Candy Company in 1988. The creator is Thomas Tate Tidwell, Sr. During World War II, the candy was used in combat rations by the U.S. Army because of its energetic value.

Jolly Rancher Hard Candy

Jolly Rancher Hard Candy
JOLLY RANCHER HARD CANDY

Jolly Ranchers was created in 1949 by Bill and Dorothy Harmsen. Jolly Ranchers’ hard candies are especially popular with people because of their variety of flavors. 

There are different types of small, bite-sized candies in the assortment. including raspberry, grape, watermelon, and apple. These hard candies are individually wrapped, so they are meant to be shared with loved ones. And one more thing: candy is absolutely sugar-free. It contains no cholesterol or fat and is an amazing vegan candy. So, it is healthy to eat and enjoy it anytime.

Smarties 

Smarties 
SMARTIES

Smarties are color-varied, sugar-coated chocolate candies. The brand looks like a tablet candy, similar to what we know as Rockets. The creator of this candy is H. I. Rowntree & Company. Smarties were created in Great Britain and are currently manufactured by Nestle. They have been on the market since 1937.

This vegan candy comes in the following colors: red, yellow, blue, mauve, orange, pink, and brown. The early colors of these candies have continued to be included in almost every package. During the early years of the candy, the orange smarties were made with orange-flavored chocolate, and the light brown ones had coffee-flavored chocolate inside. Today, the flavorings are added to the shell alone, not the chocolate inside the candies.

Chewy Vegan Candy

Who does not like chewy candies? We all do. Well, those treats are the best ones to enjoy. They take a little time to eat, and that gives us the possibility of enjoying the burst of flavors while chewing them. However, most chewy candies consist of gelatine, which is animal-based and therefore not vegan. So, some people found a very good solution to this problem and started using cornstarch in Carnuba wax to create a chewy texture. So, our chewy vegan candy was born.

Swedish Fish

Swedish Fish
SWEDISH FISH

Swedish Fish is a chewy textured treat manufactured by Swedish candy producer Malaco. Candy was introduced in the United States in the 1950s. The main ingredients in candy are sugar and a mixture of glucose and fructose. 

READ MORE:  Milkshake Candy Bar (History, Pictures & Commercials)

Swedish Fish is a vegan candy and contains modified cornstarch. Cornstarch is used to modify its shape. Well, it is apparent that the candy is in the shape of a fish. Carnauba wax gives the treat a waxy texture. 

Candy comes in different colors and flavors, such as orange, lemon-lime, lingonberry, grape, pineapple, and others.  

AirHeads

AirHeads
AIRHEADS

Who does not love chewy Airheads? This candy is definitely a constant reminder of our childhood and friends. And that’s the fact that AirHeads candy is a vegan candy that has been on the market since the 1980s, but it is a fan favorite and most people try to give them out at parties or as Halloween candy.

This candy comes in many different varieties. There is a flavor for everyone, and you will find that some of these flavors are really creative! including cherry, watermelon, blue raspberry, green apple, strawberry, white mystery, birthday cake, and many others. Candy is also gluten-free and peanut and tree nut-free for those with allergies.

Red Vines

Red Vines
RED VINES

Red Vines has been manufactured in California since 1920. This mouthwatering vegan candy is produced by the American Licorice Company. Originally, the candy was called Red Twists or sometimes referred to as Red Licorice. However, it does not contain licorice

The original version of Red Vines has the flavor of cherry. Candy consists of wheat flour, corn syrup, citric acid, flavoring, and dye. Red Vines look like Twizzlers. Both are vegan candies. However, they have some differences. Red Vines have more of a chewy, easily breakable berry flavor. When the Twizzlers have more of the gelatinous texture and adhere to the teeth.

Dots Vegan Candy

Dots Vegan Candy
DOTS VEGAN CANDY

Dots is a gumdrop manufactured by Tootsie Roll Industries. It was launched in 1945. DOTS Candy has been America’s number one selling gumdrop. The main ingredients consist of malic acid, sodium citrate, food starch, flavors, and color. Dots Vegan Candy is gluten-free, peanut-free, nut-free, and kosher certified. 

There are some varieties of flavors of Dots candy, including Cherry (red), Lime (green), Orange (orange), and Strawberry (pink). The company has made candies, especially for holidays. For example, for Halloween, Halloween-themed gumdrops were introduced. There were Ghost Dots, Bat Dots, and Candy Corn Dots. The company also produced candies specially made for Christmas, Easter, and Valentine’s Day.

Dandies Marshmallows

Dandies Marshmallows
DANDIES MARSHMALLOWS

Dandies Marshmallows are a vegan candy that was created by Ryan Howard. The history behind this creation is pretty interesting. Ryan Howard was looking for vegan marshmallows for his son but couldn’t find any in stores. So, he started making the vegan marshmallows on his own. 

Dates are light and fluffy textured marshmallows that are great for camping with cocoa or just to eat as a snack. This vegan candy does not contain gelatin, corn syrup, artificial flavors, or colors and is plant-based. What else could we ask for?

Berry Patch Bunny Fruit Snacks

Berry Patch Bunny Fruit Snacks
BERRY PATCH BUNNY FRUIT SNACKS

Bunny fruit snacks are manufactured by Annie’s. Snacks come with natural strawberry, cherry, and raspberry flavors and have very cute bunny shapes. Bite-sized bunny candies consist of no artificial flavor or synthetic coloring. It is actually made with real fruit juice. Bunny Vegan Candy is low in fructose corn syrup. Candy comes in 5 oz. pouches and is a perfect, healthy snack for everybody. 

READ MORE:  Ghana Chocolate (History, Marketing & Commercials)

Vegan Chocolate

It turns out that the highest quality chocolate bars are vegan. Chocolate is made from cocoa, which makes the candy plant-based. However, not many traditional chocolate bars are vegan. High-quality chocolates do not contain any other ingredients than plain chocolate, which makes them much healthier than regular ones. 

However, we must always be aware, be careful, and check if our favorite high-quality chocolate contains milk ingredients. Here is a list of some of our favorite chocolates that are actually vegan.

Dark Super Chocolate Blackout Bar

Dark Super Chocolate Blackout Bar
DARK SUPER CHOCOLATE BLACKOUT BAR

Dark Super Chocolate Blackout Bar is produced by the Alter Eco Brand, which was founded in 1998 by Tristan Lecomte and is located in France. The brand is well known for its healthy, vegan chocolate products. Alter Eco chocolate bars are considered to be one of the best and highest quality chocolate products. And it is absolutely vegan candy. Normally, black chocolate bars contain sugar, so they are sweeter. However, Alter Eco turned out to be a game-changer.

Apart from the fact that the chocolate is delicious, it is organic, sustainably made, and contains seven ingredients. The Blackout Bar consists of 90% cocoa and is very rich in taste. 

Sjaak’s Organic Chocolate Truffles

Sjaak’s Organic Chocolate Truffles
SJAAK’S ORGANIC CHOCOLATE TRUFFLES

Sjaak’s Organic Chocolates were founded in 2004. The business is family-owned and the founder is Jacques Holten. The chocolates are advertised as being homemade because they are made by a family business. 

The Organic Chocolate Truffles come in 6.9-ounce boxes. The ingredients are grown using the organic method, so it is from heat to toe organic chocolate. The chocolate is dairy-free, which makes it a vegan candy. It also does not contain corn or gluten.

Thumbs Up

Thumbs Up
THUMBS UP

The Thumbs Up candy bar is manufactured by Go Max Go Company. The candy bar has a crunchy texture and a peanut butter center that is covered in chocolate. The chocolate coating is made with a signature receipt. 

This vegan candy does not contain artificial ingredients and has no hydrogenated oils. Also, it is GMO-free. Thumbs Up is totally plant-based and gluten-free. So, what else could we ask for in candy? Thumbs Up Vegan Candy is an absolutely amazing treat for curing a sweet tooth.

Bottom Line

To our surprise, some of the most famous and popular sweets turned out to be vegan candy. We see more and more vegan candy brands on the market, and the variety is growing. So, vegan people can enjoy their favorite treats and cure their sweet tooth too. 

However, keep in mind that if the sugar is specifically not labeled as vegan, the product may not be vegan either because the sugar is mostly processed using bone char. Some vegans choose to avoid conventional sugar too, so watch out. 

Share your thoughts in the comment section and tell us which of your favorite candies is vegan.

Please leave a review or any memories of this snack in the comments below. Thank you!

Click here for a full A-Z list of Snacks and Candy

Leave a Comment