Kosher Candy – All You Need to Dive into the Sweetest Adventure

We all love the feeling of happiness that comes after eating candy, and it is natural that we want to share that feeling with our beloved ones. Thanks to our beloved candy makers, we have a choice of amazing sweet treats. Starting with vegan candy and ending with kosher candy. 

Please leave a review or any memories of this snack in the comments at the bottom of this page. Thank you!

To no surprise, some of our very favorite brands have kosher-certified candies. Are you wondering which candies are kosher and how they are different from others? Follow us and let’s find out.

Kosher Candy

What is Kosher Candy? 

The laws of kosher food have been around for more than 3000 years now, and they are observed and coded by the Jewish tradition. Actually, the kosher laws go much beyond the rule of not eating pork and include many other intricacies. 

Starting with the chocolate and ending with the licorice ones, we have a wide range of varieties of kosher candy. The product gets certification after a detailed examination. The religious leaders and rabbinical scholars test the product and ensure that it follows the dietary laws of the Jewish religion. After passing the strict guidelines, sweets are given the title of “Kosher Candy.”

Kosher candy has a labeled kosher certification on the packaging. It is indicated by the letters K, U, or P located in the circle. There are three categories of kosher food: meat, dairy, and pareve (fish, eggs, and plant-based).

How Is Kosher Candy Made?

Applying quite strict dietary requirements, the Kosher Candy can include milk, eggs, or other animal products. However, all products need to be prepared specifically under the guidelines. If the product that candy is made from does not originate from a Jewish source, then candy can be considered non-Jewish. 

An interesting fact is that wine juice and grapes are considered non-kosher. Other than the ingredients, the production phase must be done according to certain religious customs: candies must be made with all kosher equipment.

Kosher Candy Under the category of “Dairy”

As we said, “dairy” is one of the three main categories of kosher candies. This category means that the ingredients can include milk, butter, yogurt, cheese, or hard and soft creams.

READ MORE:  Bonkers Candy (History, Flavors & Commercials)

Snickers Peanut Butter Bars

Snickers Peanut Butter Bars
SNICKERS PEANUT BUTTER BARS

Snickers is considered to be one of the best-selling candies in the world. However, did you know that the brand actually offers a variety of kosher candies too? Our favorite Peanut Butter Bars are kosher certified under Dairy. 

The perfect combination of peanut butter, caramel, nougat, and peanuts is not only a delicious treat but also a good source of energy. There are 12 individually wrapped candy bars in the package, making the candy the perfect Halloween treat.

Twix 

Twix
TWIX

Twix Chocolate Caramel Cookie Bars are a fun and delicious treat for everybody to enjoy. It is an amazing combination of smooth chocolate, crispy cookies, and chewy caramel. The bars are individually wrapped, making them easy to share with our beloved ones. The Twix cookie bar is a kosher candy and falls under the category of dairy.

M&M’s Milk Chocolate Candy 

M&M’s Milk Chocolate Candy
M&M’S MILK CHOCOLATE CANDY

M&M’s brand is one of the most famous candy brands and is loved by many people. Candy was invented in 1941 and has been one of the most beloved candies of the 1940s. The candy comes in many different colors and has the letter “m” printed on the side. 

M&Ms miniature-sized treats are a combination of soft and crunchy textures. The candy has a hard, colorful shell that is filled with delicious milk chocolate. Candy is not only great to enjoy as it is, but also a wonderful decoration for desserts. This popular treat is a great addition to buffets, parties, and our favorite celebrations. 

Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Kisses

Hershey's Milk Chocolate Kisses
HERSHEY’S MILK CHOCOLATE KISSES

Hershey’s Kisses have been manufactured by the Hershey Company since 1907. So, it has been around for quite a long time now. Chocolate kisses are bite-sized, teardrop-shaped, flat-bottomed candies. The pieces are wrapped individually in aluminum foil. 

The original version is made from milk chocolate. The Hershey’s corporation chose to unite with the Orthodox Jewish Congregation and has certified most of its products as kosher. The facility, equipment, and ingredients are carefully tested and reviewed. After the review, the product is submitted for certification.

3 Musketeers

Packaging 3 Musketeers Candy bar
3 MUSKETEERS

The 3 Musketeers candy bar is produced by Mars, Inc. This candy has the filling of whipped mousse and is covered in milk chocolate. Some people compare it to the Milky Way Bar. Candy has been on the market since 1932. The original flavors were chocolate, strawberry, and vanilla.

READ MORE:  Rolo (History, Marketing, Pictures & Commercials)

Almond Joy

Almond Joy
ALMOND JOY

Milk Chocolate and Coconut Almonds Candy Bar is manufactured by Hershey. This candy is filled with sweetened, shredded coconut that is dipped and covered in milk chocolate. 

Candy was introduced to the market in 1946 and has maintained love and popularity for 76 years now. Almond Joy was the replacement for Dreams Bar, made by Peter Paul Candy Manufacturing Company.

Dove Dark Chocolate Candy Bar

Dove Dark Chocolate Candy Bar
DOVE DARK CHOCOLATE CANDY BAR

The Dove Dark Chocolate Kosher Candy Bar is manufactured by Mars Inc. Chocolate is made with the finest cacao. Silky and smooth dark chocolate creates the perfect texture and taste. The cocoa used in the manufacturing process is bought from Rainforest Alliance Certified farms. So, the brand makes sure the product is made with absolutely natural ingredients and according to the Kosher rules. 

Heath Toffee Candy Bar

Heath Bar
HEATH TOFFEE CANDY BAR

Heath Bar has been around for more than 90 years now. The bar was created by Heath Brothers Confectionery in 1928 and was the famous candy of the 1920s. Later on, in 1996, it was acquired by the Hershey Company. 

This candy is made from toffee and milk chocolate and contains almonds. The candy has a vintage brown-colored wrap and is sealed as “Finest Quality English Toffee.

Kosher Candy Under the category of “Pareve”

Pareve is another one of the three categories of kosher food. Pareve does not contain meat or dairy. Some examples of pareve ingredients are flour, eggs, fruit, and sugar. 

Atomic Fireballs

Atomic Fireballs

We are all familiar with this intensely flavored jawbreaker from Pareve Kosher candy — Atomic Fireballs. This cinnamon treat has a hot flavor and is red in color. While eating, the hotness and cinnamon sweetness opens up the taste buds. Candy comes in bulk and is individually wrapped, making it perfect for sharing with loved ones and friends. 

Candy was created by the Ferrara Candy Company in 1954. The inventor was Nello Ferrera, son of Salvatore Ferrera. Since its appearance, the candy has gained worldwide recognition and love. 

Gum Drops 

Gum Drops
Gum Drops

Another famous Kosher candy manufactured by the Ferrara candy company is Gum Drops. Candy is under the category of “paver” because it consists of sugar, fruit, and other paved ingredients. This treat has a jelly-like consistency and a chewy texture.

When biting, the flavorful, fruity taste spreads in our heads and is absolutely delicious. Flavors include Orange, Anise, Lemon, Pineapple, Lime, and Cherry.

Red Vines

Red Vines
RED VINES

Red Vines is a licorice candy manufactured by the American Licorice Company. The color of the candy is red, and it has an original cherry flavor. Since its appearance, new variations have been introduced too, such as the Red Twist flavor. Candy has a rubbery texture and a chewy taste.

READ MORE:  Bit-O-Honey (History, FAQ, Pictures & Commercials)

Despite its name, the candy does not contain any licorice at all. The “Original Red” flavor is considered to be the most popular one even now. Candy is made from corn syrup, flavoring, wheat flour, and other ingredients, making it Pareve Kosher Candy.

Ferrara’s Jelly Spearmint Leaves

Ferrara’s Jelly Spearmint Leaves
FERRARA’S JELLY SPEARMINT LEAVES

Jelly Spearmint Leaves can be considered as one of the traditional Christmas candies. This candy has a jelly structure and spearmint flavor, coated in sugar. The sweetness and the cooling taste of mint make the perfect combination. Candy is dairy-free and is certified Kosher Pareve after it went under strict supervision. 

Jelly Belly

Jelly Belly Assorted Flavor Jelly Beans
JELLY BELLY

Jelly Belly was actually taken to the White House and President Ronald Reagan loved it. He once famously said, “We can hardly start a meeting or make a decision without passing the jar of jelly beans.” So, yes, candy has become even more popular as a result of this.

The Jelly Belly company’s jelly beans proudly stand among the Kosher Pareve candies. The candy has always been gelatin-free, and the ingredients used have always been of the highest quality. There are 92 flavors in the production of candy today.

Candy Canes

candy canes
CANDY CANES

The candy cane has slowly become a part of our culture and has been around for generations now. Who can imagine Christmas without the Candy Canes? Spangler Candy Company has manufactured our favorite peppermint-flavored iconic candy with red and white stripes. 

Spangler’s candy company has been manufacturing candy since 1906. Many of our favorite treats are made by them. Other than candy canes, they have created some very unique and delicious Pareve Kosher candies. Dum Dum lollipops, Astro Pops, Lemonhead lollipops, Atomic Fireball Lollipops, Saf-T-Pops, and Jelly Belly Candy Canes are just a few examples.

Bottom Line

Our love of candy and the sweet tooth that needs to be cured makes us overcome all kinds of obstacles. The process of making kosher candy is complicated and needs to be carefully monitored. However, it was all absolutely worth it. As a result, we can all indulge in the sweets without reservation.

Which one of the delicious treats mentioned above would you like to taste? Do you know any other delicious kosher candies that we all need to know about? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Please leave a review or any memories of this snack in the comments below. Thank you!

Click here for a full A-Z list of Snacks and Candy

Leave a Comment